School News

Move Up Day Awards
Posted 06/04/2018 03:52PM

Move Up Day was held on a sunny, but chilly, June 1 in the Formal Gardens.

Congratulations to this year's awards winners!

Student Awards

Alexander Award
Dieter Villegas '18
For the senior boy who best exemplifies the spirit and ideals of LFA

American Legion Award
Dieter Villegas '18
For the senior who exemplifies honor, courage, scholarship, leadership, and service

The Aurelian Book Prize
David Krivoshik '18
For the student who embodies the values of the Aurelian Honor Society: personal character, honorable conduct, intellectual rigor, promise of future achievement, and desire to contribute to society.

Butler Award
Shaena Wright '18
For the senior who has earned academic achievement through perseverance

Daughters of the American Revolution Award
Angela Zhou '18
For the senior who exemplifies the ideals of service, leadership, patriotism, and dependability

Faculty Award
Hongyi Fang '18
For the student who has, in thought, word, and deed, embodied the ideal of scholarship

Mary Freeland Award
Angela Zhou '18
For the senior girl who best exemplifies the spirit and ideals of LFA

Hixon Award
Yaokun Shi '18
For the senior who is outstanding in friendliness and concern for others

Service Above Self Award
Angela Zhou '18 and Dominic Scheerer '18
For the students whose personal commitment and public contribution reveal a passion for creating positive change on local and global levels

Virginia Phillips Speidel Award
Angela Zhou '18
For the senior girl who is outstanding in sincerity, courtesy, and thoughtfulness

Horace S. Vaile Award
Dieter Villegas '18
For the senior who has most imaginatively discharged administrative responsibilities

Benjamin D. Waldie, Sr. Award
Jenny Levitt '18
For the senior who, by nature of his or her presence, has substantially impacted LFA

Wetzel Award
Kennedy Hayes '18
For the senior girl who has best exemplified the spirit of Ferry Hall

Jonathan Fremd Award
Calvin Osborne '21
For the freshman who best exemplify the spirit and ideals of LFA

McLaughlin Prize
Michael Lentskevich '20
For the sophomore who best exemplifies the spirit and ideals of LFA

Jewel J. Jackson Award
Teni Bakare '19
For the junior who best exemplify the spirit and ideals of LFA

Faculty Awards

Alumni Award for Teaching Excellence
This award was instituted in 2008. Established by an LFA alumnus from the class of 1948. It honors one or more faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in classroom teaching and provides a grant for enhanced professional development. The 2018 recipients are Kim Graham, English Faculty, and David Wick P'16, Latin and English Faculty.

Laima Salcius Faculty Award
The Faculty Award was established in 1980 by then-Headmaster Edward J. Pacquette as an annual award recognizing a member of the faculty who gives significantly and extraordinarily to the life of the school." It was renamed the Laima Salcius Faculty Award in 1998 to acknowledge the contribution to LFA by alumni parent Laima Salcius through her service in the Parents Association. Tim Plambeck P'21, Director of Music, is this year's recipient.

Faculty and Staff Anniversaries

Congratulations to these faculty and staff members who are celebrating milestone years of service to the Lake Forest Academy community.

5 Years of Service

Shannon Bradac P'18
College Counseling Office and Academic Records Manager

Mandy Byron
English Faculty

Grace Kim
Dean of Communications

Lynn Lazzeretti
Math and Science Faculty

Val Sorenson
Modern & Classical Languages Department Chair, Spanish Faculty

10 Years of Service

Peg Plambeck P'21
Adjunct Voice Teacher

Adam Schlipmann
Fine & Performing Arts Department Chair, Director of Instrumental Music

Ruth Smith P'15, '18
Science Faculty

15 Years of Service

Jason Koenig
Fine & Performing Arts Faculty

Lusanda Mayikana P'14
Dean of Pluralism & Multicultural Affairs, Seminar Faculty

Maggie Tennyson
Math Faculty

20 Years of Service

Kristine Von Ogden P'18
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs - Director of Curriculum & Global Concentration, French Faculty

Contact Us

1500 West Kennedy Road
Lake Forest, IL 60045
(847) 615-3210

powered by finalsite