News Post

LFA Science Olympiad Team Named State Champions
LFA Science Olympiad Team Named State Champions

After a long ride to Champaign, Ill., on Friday, April 12, the Science Olympiad team set out for a long day of events on April 13. The team surpassed their goal of garnering three medals and ended up winning a whopping 11 medals. The Caxys also won the Sportsmanship Award and walked away with the State Championship!! Congratulations to all of our Science Olympiad members, and the full list of awards is below:

  • Danny Luo '19 and Derek Hui '20 placed 1st for Astronomy.
  • Rachel Nguyen '19 and Tony Luo '21 placed 4th for Chem Lab.
  • Maggie Zhou '19 and Richard Wu '20 placed 2nd for Designed Genes and 4th for Disease Detectives.
  • Kayla Kuehmann '20 and Tony Luo '21 placed 2nd for Dynamic Planet.
  • Max Collins '21, Will Collins '21, and Calvin Osborne '21 placed 3rd for Experimental Design.
  • Max Collins '21 and Will Collins '21 placed 2nd for their Mousetrap Vehicle and 4th for Wright Stuff.
  • Michael Lentskevich '20 and Maggie Zhou '19 placed 2nd for Water Quality.
  • Michael Lentskevich '20 and Charnice Hoegnifioh '20 placed 3rd for Write it Do it.
  • Alina Wang '21 and David Si '21 placed 3rd in Indoor Bottle Rocket.

Elizabeth Campisi '20, Helenna Xu '20, Lina Wang '20, Sophie Waimon '20, Dora Hu '21, and Mimi Osborne '22 also competed fiercely in their respective categories!