Head of School Search

Last February, the LFA community received notice that Head of School Dr. John Strudwick would be retiring at the end of the 2018-2019 academic year.

Since 2001, under John's leadership, LFA has built ten new buildings, renovated or improved nearly all other existing facilities and implemented three strategic plans (2003, 2008, 2014). In 2014, LFA celebrated the successful end of the Academy's first comprehensive capital campaign, which raised $68.8 million. The campus has transformed dramatically, and LFA's community has continued to thrive with John as its leader.

The Board of Trustees has formed a search team consisting of trustees, faculty, parents, and alumni to find the next visionary leader who will continue the Academy's legacy as a first-rate boarding and day school. The team will work with Patrick F. Bassett, Richard Odell, Marc Frankel, and Judith Schectman from Triangle Associates - Heads Up Consulting to review potential candidates and recommend finalists to the Board.

For over 161 years, the Academy has stayed true to its core values of educating the innovative minds of the next generation. The institution and its people are poised to achieve higher levels of success and look forward enthusiastically to a new chapter in LFA’s history.

Please email hossearch@lfanet.org with inquiries, concerns, and nominations for candidates.


LFA Prospectus

Opportunity Statement

Letters to the Community

HOS Search Team

Makola Abdullah
(Trustee 2010-present; LFA 1986)
Petersburg, VA

Kerry Cedergren
(Faculty 2001-present; P '13 '17)
Libertyville, IL

Jim Cowart
(Trustee 2011-present; LFA 1969)
Laguna Niguel, CA

Chris Dozois
(Faculty 1989-present; LFA 1984; P '17 '21)
Lake Forest Academy, LF, IL

Gloria Harper
(Faculty 1989-2006; P '93; Trustee 2007-2016; Life Trustee 2016)
Chicago, IL

Ned Jessen
(Trustee 1999-2008; 2009-present; P '01; 05; Life Trustee 2008)
Lake Bluff, IL

Gregory K. Jones
(Trustee 2010-present; P '12 '14)
Lake Forest, IL

Beth Moritz
(Trustee 2016-present; P '15 '16 '18)
Winnetka, IL

Kathy Pollock
(Trustee 2014-present; Ferry Hall 1970)
Chicago, IL

Judith Reid-Anderson
(Trustee 2015-present; P '13 '16 '18)
Lake Forest, IL

Mike Schell
(Trustee 2001-2010; 2011-present; Life Trustee 2010; LFA 1965)
Chatham, MA

Ramona Sequeira
(Trustee 2017-present; P '17 '19)
Lake Forest, IL

Marianne Silver
(Trustee 2015-present; P '08 '16 '19 '21)
Lake Bluff, IL

Richard Zhao
(Trustee 2010-present; LFA 2004)
Houston, TX

Contact Us

1500 West Kennedy Road
Lake Forest, IL 60045
(847) 615-3210

powered by finalsite